History On Location Day Three: Boston

Link to Day One’s post here; Day Two’s here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Day Three began with a talk from Frank Cogliano linking our study of the early colonies to the period of the American revolution – an experience of becoming more British, but less English.  Cogliano then led us along the Freedom Trail, including stops at the Granary Burial Ground, Faneuil Hall, the Old South Meeting House, and King’s Chapel.  The day concluded with a classroom implementation session with Gloria Sesso and a tour of Harvard.

Teacher-participants, please weigh in:

  • What do you think were the important ideas we considered?  What valued do you see in studying this historical period?
  • What historical questions were answered?  What new historical questions developed?
  • What new ideas or questions about the teaching and learning of history were you left with?
3 responses to “History On Location Day Three: Boston

  1. For me, teaching with primary sources from documents to artwork, political cartoons and engravings, to songs and poems…is how my teaching continues to be enhanced and my students learn at a deeper level and want to keep researching into their evenings. Each day we are contemplating the meaning and the context of the words and images of the past and having discussions and dialogs about their significance. My students are spellbound by the artifacts, are thinking metaphorically, and connect the past to their own lives in a way that is genuine.
    I was inspired by the historians, Park Rangers, presenters and my colleagues even to the point of tears in some cases. I have been sharing my experiences with my staff and have been asked by my Principal to lead a class to further share and model lessons that will make a difference for the future.

  2. Even though a few of us had already walked the freedom trail a few days before, it was great to do it a second time. I didn’t have to worry about taking pictures and could spend more time listening to Frank and taking sites in without the camera in my eye.

  3. What an experience. Such an amazing day with Frank. By “living” history I was able to bring expertise into my classroom.

Leave a Reply

